Pulitzer Prizes: 2024 winners list


The Pulitzer Committee recognized ProPublica for the work of Joshua Kaplan, Justin Elliott, Brett Murphy, Alex Mierjeski and Kirsten Berg, citing their “groundbreaking and ambitious reporting that has broken through the thick wall of secrecy surrounding the Supreme Court.”

Finalists KFF Health News and Cox Media Group; The Washington Post


Lookout Santa Cruz won for “its detailed and skillful, community-focused coverage of catastrophic flooding and mudslides over a holiday weekend that displaced thousands of residents and destroyed more than 1,000 homes and businesses.”

Finalists Honolulu Civil Beat staff; Los Angeles Times Staff Writer

Investigative reporting

Ms. Dreier was honored for “a deeply reported series of stories that reveal the staggering extent of migrant child labor in the United States — and the corporate and government failures that perpetuate it.”

Finalists Bloomberg employee; Casey Ross and Robert Herman of Stat


Ms. Stillman’s work is a “devastating indictment of our legal system’s reliance on felony murder charges and its disparate consequences, which are often devastating for communities of color,” the committee said.

Finalists Bloomberg employee; Staff at The Texas Tribune, ProPublica and Frontline


Ms. Conway and Ms. Reynolds-Tyler were honored for “their investigative series on missing Black girls and women in Chicago, which exposed how systemic racism and police neglect contributed to the crisis.”

Finalists Jerry Mitchell, Ilyssa Daly, Brian Howey and Nate Rosenfield of Mississippi Today and The New York Times; Staff at The Villages Daily Sun


There were two winners in this year’s National Reporting category. The Reuters staff won for “an eye-opening series of accountability reports” focused on the automotive and aerospace companies led by billionaire Elon Musk. The Washington Post staff won for “their sobering examination of the AR-15 semi-automatic rifle.”

Finalists Bianca Vazquez Toness and Sharon Lurye of The Associated Press; Dave Philipps of The New York Times


The New York Times won for its “comprehensive and insightful coverage of Hamas’ deadly attack in southern Israel on October 7, Israel’s intelligence failures and the Israeli military’s comprehensive, deadly response in Gaza,” the committee said.

Finalists Julie Turkewitz and Federico Rios of The New York Times; Washington Post Staff Writer

Feature writing

Ms. Engelhart was honored “for her fair portrayal of a family’s legal and emotional struggles during a matriarch’s advancing dementia.” Her story “sensitively explores the mystery of a human being,” the committee said.

Finalists Keri Blakinger of The Marshall Project, co-published with The New York Times Magazine; Jennifer Sr. from The Atlantic


The committee highlighted Mr. Kara-Murza’s “passionate columns, written at great personal risk from his prison cell, in which he warned of the consequences of dissent in Vladimir Putin’s Russia and insisted on a democratic future for his country.”

Finalists Brian Lyman of the Alabama Reflector; Jay Caspian Kang of the New Yorker

Source link